SCS Spring Meeting 2022

On Friday, April 22, 2022, the SCS Spring Meeting took place at Sciences II, University of Geneva. The local organizers, Prof. Nicolas Winssinger, Prof. Stefan Matile and Prof. Sascha Hoogendoorn, all from University of Geneva, put together a fantastic program and invited leaders from all over the world to talk on the topic «Biosupramolecular Chemistry».

Organizers, speakers, the SCS Board members and invited guests already met on the eve of the event for the symposium dinner at Café Papon in the old town of Geneva. It was a perfect start into the event that continued on Friday morning with a welcome coffee and the morning session. More than 150 participants joined the lectures of Chris Hunter, Cambridge University, Helma Wennemers, ETH Zurich, Andreas Herrmann, Firmenich SA and Fabian von Rohr, University of Zürich (Werner Prize Winner 2022).

After Lunch, during the General Assembly of the Society, Christian Bochet and David Spichiger reported on the SCS activities 2021 and gave an outlook to 2022 and 2023. The afternoon lectures were given by Hanadi Sleiman, McGill University, Wilhelm Huck, Radboud University, Dean Toste, UC Berkeley and Don Hilvert, ETH Zurich.

The aperitif in the entrée of the Sciences II building rounded up a fantastic event and we were happy to organize an on-site SCS Spring Meeting after a cancellation in 2020 and an online event in 2021.

Many thanks to the speakers for their great talks and as special thanks again to the local organizers and their team.

Non-covalent interactions are increasingly embraced as a central design principle in research areas beyond host-guest chemistry, the cradles of supramolecular chemistry.  The biosupramolecular theme of this spring meeting tributes the roots of supramolecular chemistry and covers the growing reaches of molecular recognition principles from organic, inorganic, analytical and physical chemistry toward chemical biology, systems catalysis, and the materials sciences.  The unifying aim being to go from structure to function in dynamic systems that are programmed by reversible interactions and inspired by nature.


  • Chris Hunter, Cambridge University
  • Helma Wennemers, ETH Zurich
  • Tanja Weil, MPI Mainz
  • Fabian von Rohr, University of Zürich (Werner Prize Winner 2022)
  • Hanadi Sleiman, McGill University
  • Andreas Herrmann, Firmenich
  • Wilhelm Huck, Radboud University
  • Dean Toste, UC Berkeley
  • Don Hilvert, ETH Zurich

Meeting Chair

Prof. Nicolas Winssinger, University of Geneva
Prof. Stefan Matile, University of Geneva
Prof. Sascha Hoogendoorn, University of Geneva

Symposium Sekretariat

SCS Head Office

+41 31 306 92 92